Friday, 26 February 2016 00:00

Awards Announcement: ISO 50001 standard organisations eligible for new Global Award

Showcase SA clean energy successes in Energy Management Leadership Awards 2016

The National Cleaner Production Centre of South Africa (NCPC-SA) and the South African National Energy Development Institute (SANEDI), encourage our partners that have earned certification in the ISO 50001 standard to enter the new global Energy Management Leadership Awards 2016. Winners will be honoured at the Clean Energy Ministerial (CEM7) meeting in June 2016. This high-profile event will gather clean energy leaders and partners from around the world, including energy ministers from the 24 governments active in CEM.


What better platform to show the world what South Africa is doing in the clean energy space!  

Who can enter?
If you are an organisation that holds a current, third-party-verified ISO 50001 certificate you are eligible to enter the competition.

How do I enter?
Each organisation will need to submit a copy of their ISO 50001 certificate and a structured case study of your EnMS experience, which will be scored by an independent panel of experts.

For more information on how to enter visit:

Deadline extended to: 15 March 2016

What is the prize?
Three organisations will receive the global CEM Award of Excellence for Energy Management. These winning organisations will be recognized at an awards ceremony during the seventh Clean Energy Ministerial (CEM7) meeting:

Place: San Francisco, California, USA
Date:  2 June 2016

We are all winners
In addition, each organisation that submits a qualifying entry will receive an Energy Management Insight Awardfor helping to build global insight on the benefits of energy management systems. All accepted entries will also be published online to highlight the range of benefits achieved through the use of ISO 50001-certified energy management systems.

This awards programme is the latest in a series of high-impact activities launched by the CEM Energy Management Working Group (EMWG). Through the EMWG, government officials worldwide share best practices and leverage their collective expertise to accelerate the use of EnMS in industry and commercial buildings. Governments participating in the EMWG include Australia, Canada, Chile, China (observer), the European Commission, India, Indonesia, Japan, Korea, Mexico, South Africa, Sweden, and the United States.